Harassment in roleplay spaces

I didn’t want to have to write this. When I started this blog so many months ago, (I think over a year) I wanted to be positive. Unfortunately, problems arise and sometimes, one person who doesn’t stand to gain anything can make a difference. I am not writing this because I want to. I am writing this because I have to. So without further ado, let’s get started.

The current issue I seek to address has to do with online roleplay. I can attest to the fact that roleplay is fun. Roleplay is a wonderful little activity for passing a few hours of your free time, if everyone involved is happy and comfortable. However, just like with any hobby, a few bad eggs can ruin everything for everyone else.

For me, it all started when I noticed a woman who roleplays as Vert from Hyperdimension Neptunia with the username “per__Vert” (it’s a pun) tweeting about how she was being accused of harassment because she was talking about her experiences with recent harassment. I suppose a statement like this would seem confusing to some, but it reminded me of people I knew, so I took interest in these events. She would later post evidence of harassment towards her in the form of screencaps.

A detailed account of events, with the URLs of harassing tweets can be found here:

http://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1sngq56?new_post=true

Now, I’m no detective, but I find this to be pretty concrete evidence of harassment. The group in particular is called “CCP”. (I don’t know what that stands for. Please do not ask me.) The people who are at the center of this group seem to really hate backlash. Case in point, a screencap of a rant by one of the ringleaders about how naming harassers is such a horrible, evil thing to do.

shitty person rant

Interesting argument. CCPNoire goes on to state that you should never bring your grievances with others into a public space. But what else can one do when someone tells them to “choke on pussy” and makes fun of them in a sexual context? Legitimate question here.

Now, let’s have a look at what is only a couple cringe-worthy tweets sent per__Vert’s way. (Fair warning. Some pretty ugly language is used here.)

IMG_20150927_194417

IMG_20150927_194407

Take a good long look at the behavior that’s being defended. These are horrible things to say, and per___Vert is actually tagged in these posts. How anyone can think of this as A-OK is beyond me. I suppose that next you’ll say “How do we know CCP condones this?” Well, that’s an easy question to answer. If you look, yu can see that CCPNoire actually retweeted the abusive tweets made by HienNoKoukeisha. Look if you want. Te evidence isn’t hard to find. per__Vert even took a screencap of it. (Which I am unable to upload from my tablet due to low memory, so you’ll have to go onto her profile for it. Oh, well.)

So let’s recap. Naming people as harassers is apparently wrong, but publicly demeaning a woman’s sexuality is A-OK in CCPNoire’s book. Something is seriously wrong with this picture.

Something that is important to note here is that the CCP are going to keep going as long as people continue to ignore their wrongdoings. It’s like dealing with a schoolyard bully. You get in trouble for fighting back, and the attacker gets off scot-free regardless of what they’ve done. Bullies behave badly because they think they can get away with it. But if enough people take a stand, they start to see that they’re in big trouble. So don’t let the bullies rule the playground. Strike down harassment whenever you see it. Then, and only then, can this nightmare end for good.

Have a nice day.

-Dan Bordelon, Jr.

Leave a Reply

